My Experience of Joining the Dance Studio

I have a passion to share events and happenings in my life. Sometimes It is not unusual or even particularly inspiring. However, I hope that you feel a connection and find the drive within yourself to make some improvements. That’s what happened to me. Check this out 😉

Growing up, I constantly struggled with little over-weight and lack of motivation. Neither was particularly bad. I wasn’t the fattest woman in the block. But when I ran laps in gym, I always finished near the end, huffing and puffing my way across the finish line.

housewife

Most of the time, I used to take care of the house and the kitchen. It was nothing exceptionally different from a typical modern housewife ☹. Then one day, my then 6-year-old daughter gave me a wake-up call. On a sunny Tuesday afternoon, she came home from school and asked me to speak at her class career day. I put her off, because I had no career that I was proud of. After dinner, she asked to play with her instead of lying on the couch like I always did. Perhaps because lightning struck twice on the same day, I resolved then and there to make some changes.

A few weeks earlier, a friend had asked me to come to her dance class. I didn’t say anything, but I thought the idea was preposterous! After that Tuesday afternoon, I realized that I was the one who was being preposterous. I needed to make some changes, and dance seemed like a good place to begin. And what a beginning it was.

wailana butler joined a dance class

My Dance Studio

Everyone doesn’t experience results like mine, but for me, dance was amazing. My weight dropped noticeably, and I suddenly found mental energy that I never knew was there. The one-time visit to please my friend quickly turned into a weekly habit. Like many other people, I soon decided to transform my passion into something tangible and inspiring, so I decided to start an online dance blog. At least, that was the plan.

A Few of My Favorite Things

Dance has made one of my worst enemies to one of my best friends viz. stretching and jumping. Now, the stretching feels so good, both physically and emotionally.

Dance is also a great way to tone my muscles without spending a lifetime in a gym. If you are like me and just want to look and feel better, dance is just the thing. The strength exercises you do will not get you on the cover of a fitness magazine. But they will give you noticeably more tone, more energy, and more endurance. I know that for a fact, because that’s what dance does for me and my students.

dancing

I never would have said this a year ago, but I also enjoy physical activity. It’s fun to take a few laps around the block on a warm afternoon, or maybe pop in unexpectedly to see a neighbor a mile or so away.

Sometimes, I’m up for a somewhat longer hike, yet I always seem to find something new and exciting.

Dance has also given me the mental and physical energy to do some other things. There’s a refurbished 1950s movie theater near me that shows old movies, and it’s lots of fun to see Gone With The Wind and other classics on the big screen.

And what girl doesn’t like shopping! Now that I have extra money and extra energy to enjoy it, many weekends find me in vintage clothing stores. It’s amazing what you can find tucked away in these places. I usually find something to wear and something to give away. Next to my family and my dance, almost nothing makes me feel better than giving.

I always believe..

Sincerity and Perseverance Pays

I shop for designer clothes as well. There are lots of great places to go online. It’s almost like taking a shopping trip out of town, except you can stay in your pajamas.

Cooking is amazing as well. I’m not quite a foodie yet, but that moment is not far away. It’s so much fun to try new recipes, especially those from other countries. Sometimes the experiment works out well and everyone loves the strange-looking dish on their dinner plates. Sometimes it’s a disaster, so we have to order Uber Eats. Either way, it’s great fun.

How to Reach Me

Isn’t social media great? I love sharing my thoughts and the things that happen during my day. Even if they seem mundane to me, they almost always touch someone else. Social media is a good way to connect with people yet still maintain a distance. Almost everyone is on Facebook and Twitter, so these vehicles are nice ways to bring in new people.

I maintain a tumblr blog as well. Most of the main topics, as you might have guessed, revolve around fashion, dance, and food! Even if no one ever reads it, I’d still contribute to my blog. Writing is very cathartic.

But lots of people do read the blog, and that makes it even more exciting. It’s incredible when someone reads what I write and is inspired by it. It’s my sincere hope that you find just a little inspiration in these words. If that’s the case, please spread the word!

Find more about me:

https://wailanabutler.medium.com

https://www.wishlistr.com/wailanabutler/

https://www.mioola.com/wailanabutler/